CITY OF LAWRENCE

Common Council

January 6, 2020

Regular Meeting

<u>MEMBERS PRESENT</u>: Council Members Lisa Chavis, Tom Shevlot, William Tyrrell Giles, Sherron Freeman, Rick Wells, Shawn Denney, Maria Rusomaroff, Lauren Russel and Deborah Whitfield were present.

ALSO PRESENT: Clerk Kathleen Walton and Attorney Jeffery Earl (Bose McKinney & Evans LLP)

<u>STAFF PRESENT</u>: Mayor Collier, Controller/Deputy Mayor Fenwick, Police Chief Hofmann, Deputy Police Chief Bigsbee and Park Superintendent Martin were present.

Council President Lisa Chavis called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. and announced a quorum was present.

The election of President of the Lawrence Common Council was opened for nominations. Councilor Giles nominated Lisa Chavis. Councilor Chavis announced that, there being no further nominations, nominations were closed. Paper ballots were distributed for voting. Clerk Walton tallied the votes. Nine votes were cast, 9 votes for Lisa Chavis. Clerk Walton announced that Lisa Chavis was elected President of the Common Council.

The election of Vice President of the Lawrence Common Council was opened for nominations. Councilor Russel nominated Tom Shevlot. Councilor Wells nominated Maria Rusomaroff. Councilor Chavis announced that, there being no further nominations, nominations were closed. Paper ballots were distributed for voting. Clerk Walton tallied the votes. Nine votes were cast, 7 votes for Tom Shevlot (Councilors Shevlot, Chavis, Giles, Freeman, Russel, Denney and Whitfield) and 2 votes for Maria Rusomaroff (Councilors Wells and Rusomaroff). Clerk Walton announced that Tom Shevlot was elected Vice President of the Common Council.

<u>COMMENTS OF COUNCIL MEMBERS</u>: Councilor Freeman congratulated Lisa Chavis on being re-elected as president of the Common Council. She went on to note malfunctioning street lights at the intersection of Sunnyside Road and Pendleton Pike. She concluded by expressing concerns about high weeds and grass at 11711 Fawn Crest Drive in the Winding Ridge

subdivision. Councilor Wells once again asked how long the intersection of 45th Street and Franklin Road would be blocked off.

<u>APPROVAL OF MINUTES</u>: Councilor Freeman moved to approve the minutes of the regular meeting on December 18, 2019. The motion was seconded by Councilor Whitfield and carried by a unanimous vote of the Council.

<u>APPROVAL OF VOUCHERS</u>: Councilor Shevlot moved to approve Payroll Claims for \$757,023.41 [December 15, 2019 payroll], Payroll Claims for \$769,012.78 [December 31, 2019 payroll] and Invoices [for vendors] as presented today [for \$869,486.51]. The motion was seconded by Councilor Denney. By a show of hands, the motion to approve the vouchers carried by a unanimous vote of the Council.

REPORTS OF COMMITTEES: None

Common Council January 6, 2020 Page 2

<u>UNFINISHED BUSINESS</u>: Councilor Chavis said nominations for members of the Redevelopment Commission were open for consideration. Councilor Giles nominated Cheryl Sullivan. Councilor Freeman nominated Becky Parker. Councilor Chavis announced that, there being no further nominations, nominations were closed. Clerk Walton distributed paper ballots. Clerk Walton tallied the votes. Seventeen votes were cast, 8 votes for Cheryl Sullivan and 9 votes for Becky Parker with one councilor choosing to vote for only one nomination (Councilor Russel). Clerk Walton announced that Cheryl Sullivan and Becky Parker were elected to the Redevelopment Commission.

Councilor Chavis said nominations for members of the Fort Harrison Reuse Authority were open for consideration. Councilor Freeman nominated Russell Brown. Councilor Chavis nominated Matt Hall. Councilor Chavis announced that, there being no further nominations, nominations were closed. Clerk Walton distributed paper ballots. Clerk Walton tallied the votes. Seventeen votes were cast, 8 votes for Russell Brown and 9 voted for Matt Hall with one councilor choosing to vote for only one nomination (Councilor Russel). Clerk Walton announced that Russell Brown and Matt Hall were elected to the Fort Harrison Reuse Authority.

Councilor Chavis said nominations for members of the Board of Zoning Appeals (BZA) were open for consideration. Councilor Whitfield nominated Steven Hall. Councilor Denney nominated Courtney Kuna. Councilor Freeman nominated Melissa Swindell. Councilor Rusomaroff nominated Mark Sanders and Heath Thomas. Councilor Shevlot nominated Desmond Woods. Councilor Wells nominated Mike Payton. Councilor Chavis announced that, there being no further nominations, nominations were closed. Clerk Walton distributed paper ballots. Clerk Walton tallied the votes. Twenty-seven votes were cast, 7 votes for Steven Hall, 7 votes for Courtney Kuna, 6 votes for Desmond Woods, 1 vote for Melissa Swindell, 3 votes for Mark Sanders, 1 vote for Mike Payton and 2 votes for Heath Thomas. Clerk Walton announced that Steven Hall, Courtney Kuna and Desmond Woods were elected to the BZA.

Councilor Chavis said nominations for a member of the Board of Zoning Appeals (BZA) as an alternate were open for consideration. Councilor Rusomaroff nominated Mark Sanders. Councilor Freeman nominated Celeste Jaffe. Councilor Chavis announced that, there being no further nominations, nominations were closed. Clerk Walton distributed paper ballots. Clerk Walton tallied the votes. Nine votes were cast, 7 votes for Mark Sanders and 2 votes for Celeste Jaffe. Clerk Walton announced that Mark Sanders was elected as the alternate to the BZA.

<u>NEW BUSINESS</u>: Resolution No. 1, 2020, approving the master lease and escrow agreements related to the City's guaranteed energy savings project, was read only by title by Clerk Walton. Councilor Shevlot moved to adopt Resolution No. 1, 2020. The motion was seconded by Councilor Whitfield. By a show of hands, the motion to adopt Resolution No. 1, 2020 carried by the following vote of the Council: Eight (8) aye votes, one (1) nay vote (Councilor Wells)

ADMINISTRATION COMMENTS: In his comments, Mayor Collier:

- Informed the Council that the corner of 45th Street and Franklin Road is in the midst of a 2-month closure.
- Welcomed the new members of the Common Council and congratulated Councilor

Chavis and Shevlot on their re-elections to leadership positions.

• Mentioned that *Geist magazine* features a cover story on the new LPD Headquarters. Common Council January 6, 2020

Page 3

• He noted that copies of the new City flag were available at the back of the public assembly room.

CITIZENS COMMENTS: None

<u>ADJOURNMENT</u>: There being no further business to come before the Council, the meeting was adjourned at 6:55 p.m., by the unanimous vote of the Council.

Lisa Chavis, President

Kathleen A. Walton, Clerk

These minutes are not intended to be verbatim. They are a summary of discussions held, with the exception of the motions. An audiotape is made which provides a detailed record.