CITY OF LAWRENCE Police Merit Commission February 14, 2022 Regular Meeting

MEMBERS PRESENT: Charles Wheeler, Gail Gartin, and Karen Horth Powers were present

MEMBERS BY ZOOM: Ronald Christensen

MEMBERS ABSENT: Bob Hendrickson

ALSO PRESENT: Clerk Kathleen Walton

<u>STAFF PRESENT</u>: Police Chief Woodruff, Deputy Police Chief Bigsbee, Captain Schneider, Captain Steele, Captain Cline and Sergeant Raftery

STAFF BY ZOOM: None

Commission President Wheeler called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. and announced a quorum was present.

<u>COMMENTS OF COMMISSION MEMBERS</u>: Ms. Powers began by thanking former Police Chief David Hofmann for his years of devoted service to the City of Lawrence. She went on to congratulate the new Chief, Gary Woodruff, and wished him success in his new position. Mr. Christensen echoed those comments and wished Chief Hofmann a "Happy Retirement". Commission President Wheeler concluded the recognition of the former and new police chiefs with an expression of gratitude and best wishes for their futures.

Captain Schneider requested the regular meetings for April 11, 2022 and May 9, 2022 be moved to April 25, 2022 (written exam minimum passing results and determine selection criteria) and May 23, 2022 (oral interview minimum passing results).

<u>APPROVAL OF MINUTES:</u> Ms. Powers moved to approve the minutes of the regular meeting on January 10, 2022. The motion was seconded by Mrs. Gartin. By a roll call vote, the motion carried 4-0.

UNFINISHED BUSINESS: None

<u>NEW BUSINESS</u>: Captain Schneider requested approval to designate Testing for Public Safety Medical, LLC (tba IPSP) as the professional service company for written and formal interview 2022 hiring process. Mrs. Gartin moved to approve the request. The motion was seconded by Ms. Powers. By a roll call vote, the motion carried 4-0.

Captain Schneider requested the Police Merit Commission to allow the Professional Standards Division Commander to act as the agent for the Police Merit Commission during the 2022 hiring process. Mrs. Gartin moved to approve Captain Schneider to act as the agent for the Police Merit Commission for the 2022 hiring process. Mr. Christensen seconded the motion. By a roll call vote, the motion carried unanimously.

Captain Schneider discussed changes in the language in Article II, Section F (2). The changes include:

F. Initial Eligibility Requirement.

- (1) Citizen. An interested party must be a citizen of the United States of America.
- (2) Age. An interested party must be, at the time of application to be a member, at least twenty-one (21) years of age and less than thirty six (36) forty (40) years of age, except as provided by Indiana Code 36-8-4.7, as may be amended from time-to-time, for veterans of the armed forces who meet the eligibility requirements as set forth in Indiana Code 36-8-4.7. The age requirements do not apply to a person who has been previously employed as a member of the Department.

Following discussion, Ms. Powers moved to approve Article II, Section F (2) with the changes. The motion was seconded by Mr. Christensen. By a roll call vote, the motion carried 4-0.

PERFORMANCE RECOGNITION: Mr. Wheeler asked Police Chief Woodruff to recognize Captain Erika Schneider and K9 Hoss in providing outstanding support by assisting the Carroll County Sheriff's Department as they coped with the line-of-duty deaths of their Sheriff's and Jail Deputies. Captain Schneider and K9 Hoss joined Police Chief Woodruff at the podium for their recognitions. Captain Schneider discussed K9 Hoss and his talents. Police Chief Woodruff presented them with a Police Merit Commission Performance Recognition certificate. Police Chief Woodruff's comments that document their outstanding performance of duty are attached to these minutes.

<u>ADMINISTRATION COMMENTS</u>: Police Chief Woodruff reported that the 2022 Hiring Process is now going on. Interested individuals can go to the joinlawrencepd.com website to learn more and apply.

CITIZEN COMMENTS: None

ADJOURNMENT: There being no further business to come before the Commission, the meeting was adjourned at 6:19 p.m., by the unanimous vote of the Commission.

Charles Wheeler, President

Kathleen Walton, City Clerk

These minutes are not intended to be verbatim. They are a summary of discussions held, except for the motions. An audiotape is made which provides a detailed record.