CITY OF LAWRENCE Police Merit Commission April 25, 2022 Regular Meeting

MEMBERS PRESENT: Charles Wheeler, Gail Gartin, Bob Hendrickson, and Ronald

Christensen were present

MEMBERS BY ZOOM: Karen Horth Powers

MEMBERS ABSENT: None

ALSO PRESENT: Clerk Kathleen Walton

STAFF PRESENT: Police Chief Woodruff, Chief of Staff Hofmann, and Officer Cody Anderson

STAFF BY ZOOM: Captain Schneider

Commission President Wheeler called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. and announced a quorum was present.

COMMENTS OF COMMISSION MEMBERS: None

<u>APPROVAL OF MINUTES:</u> Mr. Christensen moved to approve the minutes of the regular meeting on February 14, 2022. Mr. Hendrickson seconded the motion. By a roll call vote, the motion carried 5-0.

UNFINISHED BUSINESS: None

<u>NEW BUSINESS</u>: Captain Schneider requested approval of the filing from Testing for Public Safety, LLC (dba IPSP) minimum passing standards for the written examination results. IPSP is recommending the cut-off be set at 80.089% (applicants 1 through 9). Following discussion, Mrs. Gartin moved to set the cut-off at 80.089% for the minimum passing standard for the written exam (applicants 1-9). Mr. Hendrickson seconded the motion. By a roll call vote, the motion carried 5-0.

Mrs. Gartin moved to allow nine applicants to go through oral interviews. Mr. Hendrickson seconded the motion. By a roll call vote, the motion carried 5-0.

Captain Schneider discussed the recommended selection criteria for the 2022 hiring process; determination of 0.5 point for each selection criteria (weight given applicants based on IC 5-10-10-2 and IC 36-8-4-11), a war veteran and 0.5 point for a graduate from the Indiana Law Enforcement Academy (ILEA) and approval of final list rankings for the 2022 hiring list. Following discussion, Mrs. Gartin moved to approve the selection criteria to add 0.5 points to the totals of applicants for specified categories identified under IC 5-10-10-2, IC 36-8-4-11, a war veteran and add 0.5 points to the totals of applicants for a graduate from ILEA. Mr. Christensen seconded the motion. By a roll call vote, the motion carried 5-0.

Police Merit April 25, 2022 Page 2

Resolution No. 1, 2022, establishing a written policy by which members of the Lawrence Police Department Merit Commission may participate in meetings by electronic means of communication, was read only by title by Clerk Walton. Following discussion, Mr. Christensen moved to waive the reading of Resolution No. 1, 2022. Mr. Hendrickson seconded the motion. By a roll call vote, the motion carried 5-0. Mrs. Gartin moved to adopt Resolution No. 1, 2022. Ms. Powers seconded the motion. By a roll call vote, the motion carried 5-0.

Captain Schneider requested the regular meeting on Monday, May 23, 2022, at 6pm be changed to a special meeting on Monday, May 16, 2022, at 5pm. Following discussion, Mr. Christensen moved to approve the request. Mrs. Gartin seconded the motion. By a roll call vote, the motion carried 5-0.

<u>PERFORMANCE RECOGNITION</u>: Police Chief Woodruff invited Officer Cody Anderson to join him at the podium to recognize him for his outstanding performance on October 2, 2021. This recognition was originally scheduled for the FOP annual awards dinner on March 25, 2022. Officer Anderson was unable to attend that event. Police Chief Woodruff's comments concerning this recognition are included with these minutes. Police Chief Woodruff clarified that this recognition originated with the Lawrence Police Department and not the Police Merit Commission.

<u>COMMENTS OF THE POLICE CHIEF</u>: Police Chief Woodruff reported that of the 110 applicants invited to the physical agility test, only eighteen showed up. Of those 18, 11 also took the written test. Only nine individuals passed both the physical agility test and written exam. The next step is the oral interview. Police Chief Woodruff assured the commission that LPD is looking closely at its hiring process.

CITIZEN COMMENTS: None

	business to come before the Commission, the meeting
was adjourned at 6:32 p.m., by the unanimo	ous vote of the Commission.
Charles Wheeler, President	Kathleen Walton, City Clerk

These minutes are not intended to be verbatim. They are a summary of discussions held, except for the motions.