CITY OF LAWRENCE

Common Council January 18, 2023 Regular Meeting

MEMBERS PRESENT: William Tyrrell Giles, Rick Wells, Lisa Chavis, Shawn Denney, Sherron

Freeman, Deborah Whitfield, Maria Rusomaroff, and Lauren Russel

MEMBERS BY MICROSOFT TEAMS: Tom Shevlot

MEMBERS ABSENT: None

ALSO BY MICROSOFT TEAMS: Attorney Kristina Wheeler (Bose McKinney & Evans LLP)

ALSO PRESENT: Clerk Kathleen Walton

STAFF PRESENT: None

STAFF BY MICROSOFT TEAMS: Chief of Staff Hofmann

Council President William Tyrrell Giles called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. and announced a quorum was present.

<u>COMMENTS OF COUNCIL MEMBERS</u>: Councilor Freeman reported that a constituent reached out to her about the need for a deer crossing sign on 63rd Street. In response, she forwarded the specific location and other information to Jim Heneghan at DPW. She went on to say that Kensington Farms requires approval of a sign establishing new HOA policies concerning no mow areas within the development.

APPROVAL OF VOUCHERS 1-18-23: Councilor Chavis moved to approve Payroll Claims for \$918,417.38 [December 30, 2022, payroll], and Invoices [for vendors] as presented today [for \$4,945,044.52] except for voucher number 28882 in the amount of \$21,568.88 for Barnes & Thornburg. Councilor Rusomaroff seconded the motion. By a roll call vote, the motion carried by the following vote of the Council: Eight (8) aye votes and one (1) nay vote (Councilor Shevlot).

UNFINISHED BUSINESS: None

<u>NEW BUSINESS</u>: Councilor Giles said nominations for a member of the EDC was open for consideration. Councilor Denney nominated Betty Robinson. Councilor Giles announced that, there being no further nominations, nominations were closed. By a roll call vote, Nine votes were cast, 9 votes for Betty Robinson. Clerk Walton announced that Betty Robinson was elected to the EDC.

Resolution No. 1, 2023, concerning retention of Bose McKinney & Evans LLP as legal counsel, was read only by title by Clerk Walton. Councilor Whitfield Councilor moved to adopt Resolution No. 1, 2023. The motion was seconded by Councilor Denney. Following discussion, by a roll call vote, the motion carried by the following vote of the Council: Seven (7) aye votes and two (2) nay votes (Councilors Shevlot and Russel).

Councilor Giles read a prepared statement regarding the ongoing 2022 budget. The statement is attached to the minutes.

<u>ADJOURNMENT</u>: There being no further business to come before the Council, the meeting was adjourned at 6:45 p.m., by the unanimous vote of the Council.

William Tyrrell Giles, President	Kathleen A. Walton, Clerk

These minutes are not intended to be verbatim. for the motions.	They are a summary of discussions held, except