## Common Council City of Lawrence October 21, 2019 Special Meeting

<u>MEMBERS PRESENT</u>: Council Members Lisa Chavis, Sherron Freeman, Tom Shevlot, William Tyrrell Giles, Becky Parker, Rick Wells and Matt Hall were present

ALSO PRESENT: Clerk Kathleen Walton and Attorney Kristina Wheeler (Bose McKinney & Evans LLP)

STAFF PRESENT: Mayor Collier, Controller/Deputy Mayor Fenwick, Interim Corporation Counsel Hopper, Police Chief Hofmann, Fire Chief Batalis, Utility Superintendent Salsbery, Park Superintendent Martin and Streets Director Heneghan were present.

Council President Lisa Chavis called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. and announced a quorum was present.

UNFINISHED BUSINESS: Proposal No. 7, 2019, appropriations and tax rates for the 2020 budget year, was read only by title by Clerk Walton. Council President Chavis asked Controller Fenwick for a quick overview of the 2020 budget. Controller Fenwick discussed the highlights of the 2020 budget: 4th consecutive year there is a balanced budget, 70% of the General Fund is public safety, \$7.1 million projected operating reserve, increased funding for the Park Department, over \$7 million spent on paving since 2016 and will hire 2 additional employees for the Street Department. Councilor Chavis asked Councilor Giles to comment on the 2020 budget as chairman of the Administration, Budget and Finance Committee. Councilor Giles said it is a balanced budget and the Garage Fund will allocate cost to each department. Controller Fenwick responded to comments and questions regarding the 2020 budget from the Council. Following that discussion, Councilor Shevlot moved to adopt Proposal No. 7, 2019. The motion was seconded by Councilor Giles. By a show of hands, the motion to adopt Proposal No. 7, 2019 carried by the following vote of the Council: Six (6) aye votes and one (1) nay vote (Councilor Wells).

NEW BUSINESS: None

ADJOURNMENT: There being no further business to come before the Council, the meeting was adjourned, at 6:50 p.m., by the unanimous vote of the Council.

Lisa Chavis. President

Kathleen A. Walton, Clerk