## CITY OF LAWRENCE Common Council December 21, 2022 Regular Meeting

<u>MEMBERS PRESENT</u>: Lisa Chavis, Shawn Denney, Sherron Freeman, Deborah Whitfield, William Tyrrell Giles, Maria Rusomaroff, and Rick Wells <u>MEMBERS BY ZOOM</u>: None <u>MEMBERS ABSENT</u>: Tom Shevlot, and Lauren Russel <u>ALSO BY ZOOM</u>: Attorney Jacob Antrim (Bose McKinney & Evans LLP) <u>ALSO PRESENT</u>: Clerk Kathleen Walton <u>STAFF PRESENT</u>: Chief of Staff Korn <u>STAFF BY ZOOM</u>: None

Council President Lisa Chavis called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. and announced a quorum was present.

<u>COMMENTS OF COUNCIL MEMBERS</u>: Councilor Wells asked for clarification about when and where Common Council meetings will appear online or on TV. Clerk Walton responded.

<u>APPROVAL OF VOUCHERS 12-21-22</u>: Councilor Giles moved to approve Payroll Claims for \$997,319.61 [November 30, 2022, payroll], Payroll Claims for \$907,795.96 [December 15, 2022, payroll], and Invoices [for vendors] as presented today [for \$1,157,099.37]. Councilor Denney seconded the motion. By a show of hands, the motion carried unanimously.

The Mayor, Clerk and Council signed certifications pursuant to IC 36-1-20.2 and 36-1-21.

<u>UNFINISHED BUSINESS</u>: Proposal No. 30, 2022, amending the Lawrence Municipal Code to establish an all-way stop intersection at Barksdale Way and Milroy Road, was read only by title by Clerk Walton. Councilor Freeman said the Code Committee met and recommended a do-pass for Proposal No. 30, 2022. Councilor Whitfield moved to adopt Proposal No. 30, 2022. The motion was seconded by Councilor Freeman. By a show of hands, the motion carried unanimously.

<u>NEW BUSINESS</u>: Councilor Chavis said nominations for members of the Fort Harrison Reuse Authority were open for consideration. Councilor Freeman nominated Russell Brown and Karen Horth Powers. Councilor Chavis announced that, there being no further nominations, nominations were closed. Paper ballots were distributed for voting. Clerk Walton tallied the votes. Fourteen votes were cast, 7 votes for Russell Brown and 7 votes for Karen Horth Powers. Clerk Walton announced that Russell Brown and Karen Horth Powers were elected to the Fort Harrison Reuse Authority.

<u>ADJOURNMENT</u>: There being no further business to come before the Council, the meeting was adjourned at 6:37 p.m., by the unanimous vote of the Council.

Lisa Chavis, President

Kathleen A. Walton, Clerk

These minutes are not intended to be verbatim. They are a summary of discussions held, except for the motions.