Common Council

Common Council

About Common Council

The Lawrence Common Council is the legislative arm of city government. Its nine members, six elected by district and three elected at-large, approve the annual city budget and ordinances who seek to oversee this growing city. Lisa Chavis is the 2018 president. City Clerk Kathy Walton serves as the recording secretary for the council. Tom Shevlot is the current vice president of the council.

The Common Council also has a number of committees charged with specific areas of city government.

As your representatives, council members are interested in your thoughts and suggestions. Contact your council member with questions or concerns. You are welcome to attend council meetings. The council meets the first Monday of each month at 6:30 p.m. in the Public Assembly Room of the Government Center. Its mid-month meeting is the third Wednesday of the month at 6:30 p.m. Committee meetings are called as necessary and also convene in the Public Assembly Room.

Updated municpal codes for the City of Lawrence are available here: Municipal code.

Postal Address for Councilors:
(Insert Councilor Name Here)
9001 E. 59th Street,
Lawrence, IN 46216


Common Council

Council District Map


Archived Documents